Rediscovering Tina

There is life outside the pulpit

A New Year, A New Start January 2, 2012

Filed under: Personal Discoveries — Rediscovering Tina @ 12:46 am
Tags: , , ,

Of course the first post on the first day of a new year MUST be about what I resolve to achieve in the coming year. 2011 was a hard year, albeit one of learning to trust God even more. I know I need to quit making excuses and become more disciplined in all areas of my life. To that end, I hereby resolve in 2012 to do the following:

Start teaching again: It’s hard to believe that it has been a year since I gave a sermon on a Sunday morning. Until the past few weeks I really hadn’t missed it at all. I can feel that longing welling up again, whether it is teaching or preaching or maybe it’s writing and blogging.  I really love the study, the learning, the heavy revvies, and passing those heavy revvies along.  I’d love to see where God is leading me.

Read for pleasure and personal growth: I want to read 24 books this year. Any suggestions?

Read for spiritual growth: I want to open the Bible every day this year and not stress about reading enough or reading the right things. Just reading and digesting the Word.

Be more artistic: I want to decorate more cakes. Bigger and better and more buttercreamier!

Be more active: I want to get off my butt more and be more active. I resolve to walk at least three times a week.

Walk the talk: I want to see and be a part of my family coming to know Jesus.

Express myself: I want to write something everyday, whether it be in my journal or my blog.

Be debt free: I am committed to not having a boatload of debt when I turn 50. in five years. As Dave Ramsey says, I’m going to “live like no one else so I can live like no one else”.

Avoid diabetes and heart disease: I will do this by eating more fresh food, cooking at home, taking my lunch, drinking more water and losing 20% of my current weight.

 Get more sleep: I am currently running on 4-5 hours of sleep per night, which doesn’t help with the above  issues. I resolve for 6-8 each night.

 Your turn. What do you resolve?

 

 

7 Responses to “A New Year, A New Start”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    You should join Goodreads.com, Tina! It’s a great site and they have TONS of reviews and lists for ideas on what to read. You can also join the 2012 book challenge…you put in how many books you want to read in 2012 and it keeps track for you (of course you have to log on and update each time you read a book…but they make it fun to do that). I’ve been on for about 7 months now and I really love it! It’s inspired me to read much more than I ordinarily would.

  2. Lorrey Says:

    recently discovered the Sherlock Holmes / Mary Russell mysteries by Laurie King. now I’m hooked!

  3. I don’t do new year resolutions, but I do like some of yours. The one about Bible reading in particular – not stressing, just reading and letting it feed you.

    Books to suggest – loads, where do I start? I don’t really know what sort of thing you like reading, but I’m in the middle of an excellent historical novel called The Town House by Norah Lofts, it’s the first of a trilogy, recommended to me by a friend and it’s a great read. And I love Alexander McCall Smith – pretty much anything by him! He writes with a lovely light touch, there is depth there but it always feel like a light read. I love his series about The No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, set in Botswana, and his Isabel Dalhousie series set in Scotland, and I’ve recently discovered a trilogy he wrote, set in London – the first book is called Corduroy Mansions and it has a dog as one of the characters. (You’re welcome to rummage through my virtual shelf: http://www.shelfari.com/meirav any time.)

    btw, this stuff about getting more sleep – any idea how, in practical terms, you’re going to make that happen?

    oh, and happy new year!


Leave a Reply

