Rediscovering Tina

There is life outside the pulpit

Blessings Galore April 9, 2011

Filed under: Personal Discoveries,Personal Reflections,Post a Day — Rediscovering Tina @ 10:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve still been in a bit of a funk over Marie’s unexpected death, so I haven’t felt like I could start writing because I would start crying. Then the keyboard would get wet and I would be electrocuted. Tears and electricity are not a good combination!

Now I know there are those of you reading this and now you are talking to the screen as if I could hear you: “Tina! It’s okay to cry! Get it out! Have at it! Quit trying to hold it all in!” (See? I can hear you!)

It’s not that I can’t cry (I can) or that I won’t cry (I have). After a while you just get tired of crying. With all the losses I’ve experienced in the past five years if I cried every time I felt like it I would never do anything else but cry!

Instead, I choose to take God at his word that he can and will turn my mourning into dancing and that he can and will remove the sackcloth of grief and clothe me with joy.

One of the ways this happens is not to sit in my corner and focus on what I’ve lost, but to stand on my balcony and shout for all to hear that I am blessed beyond comprehension and Jesus loves even me!

Here are some more blessings in no particular order:

  • I have a beautiful home that I never imagined I would ever have.
  • I  got to tell a non-believer about the blessings of God today.

  • I get to decorate cakes… and people really like them.
  • I get to lead a bible study with the ladies in my department.
  • I was blessed by those same ladies with a wonderful gift of their words and love.
  • I am married to a man who makes me laugh until my sides hurt and he loves me even when I am completely unlovable.
  • I have four beautiful  nieces and nephews. I love you Adam, Angel, Lynzi and Elijah!
  • My sister, LeeAnne, is one of the most beautiful women I know… both inside and out.
  • My Dad keeps me laughing at his antics. I am so glad he is doing well.
  • ES- you are a tremendous blessing in my life. How did I ever get so lucky as to have you in my life?
  • I got to see Marie the week before she died. I thought I was going to see Tammy and Melissa, but God had other ideas.
  • 

    Your turn. What are you thankful for this day?
 

4 Responses to “Blessings Galore”

  1. Lyagushka Says:

    Ohhhhhh! this is beautiful! this is one of the things you do so well!

    ok, my turn? if I were to stand on a balcony and shout – well, no, come on, this is England, we don’t behave like that 😉 but yes, of course I have a zillion things to be grateful for.

    1. for Tina cheering me up tonight (yes, you)
    2. for a comfortable home
    3. for a loving husband – and yes, mine also makes me laugh a lot
    4. for a computer that works and all the other machines and gizmos that make my life so much easier, not forgetting the car
    5. for a functioning brain (well, most of the time…)
    6. for people who like me (go figure)
    7. for God’s love and mercy and grace and abundant patience
    8. for chocolate, and other yummy things
    9. for the internet, which means I can communicate with people in different countries/time zones/etc and even build friendships with people I’ve never set eyes on
    10. for the beauty of spring, flowers, butterflies, sunsets, and cute fluffy animals

    you know – this stuff works. I can feel the smile on my face growing as I write. thank you for inspiring me to do this!

  2. The English are way too stuffy! A little shouting fromthe balcony does one good! 🙂

    Thanks so much meirev. I appreciate your encouragement and mentionaing me in your list! It does make you stop and smile when you start counting the ways God blesses.

    On a different note… you really must explain some day all your names and what they mean!


Leave a Reply

