Rediscovering Tina

There is life outside the pulpit

Whether We Like It or Not March 23, 2011

Filed under: Personal Discoveries — Rediscovering Tina @ 1:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

“Whether we like it or not, we will obey the Lord our God to whom we send you with our plea.” ~ Jeremiah 42:6

 There’s a cute story about a little boy who was sent to sit in the corner for misbehaving. While sitting on his chair, hugging his teddy bear, he proclaimed to the wall, “I may be sitting down on the outside but I am standing up on the inside!”

I’ve discovered in the past few years that while I want you to see me following Jesus on the outside, on the inside I rebel and argue the whole time. I am a stubborn, bull-headed, ornery child when it comes to my relationship with God. I am sitting down on the outside but I am throwing a massive hissy fit on the inside!

I don’t like the things He does. Or doesn’t do. Or allows. I know He has blessed me with my heart’s desire and more with the new life Steve and I have now… but did it have to be so gut-wrenchingly awful to get to this place? I know my Mom is completely healed now and free of pain and sickness… but couldn’t God have healed her here and allowed us a few more years with her? I know he called me to a church in Wisconsin… but why couldn’t I do more?

“Whether we like it or not, we will obey the Lord our God”

Whether or not I like the circumstances of a situation I didn’t ask for and consequences I didn’t deserve, I am responsible for obeying God in my life.

Whether or not I like the fact that my Mom was taken from me way too soon, I am responsible for obeying God in my life.

Whether or not I like the fact that I have no idea what God has planned next for my life, I am responsible for obeying God in my life.

Even when I am standing up on the inside.

The truly amazing thing about God is that he loves me, temper tantrums and all. He isn’t shocked by my stubbornness, nor is he afraid to go head-to-head with me. He is worthy of praise and honor and glory.

Whether we like it or not.

 

3 Responses to “Whether We Like It or Not”

  1. You inspired me to go look that verse up – what a sad story! They had said they would do whatever God says, but in the end they didn’t believe the prophet and didn’t obey.

    It is so much easier to make these sort of promises than to live up to them.

  2. Lance Ponder Says:

    I feel very connected to the theme of this post. A little too connected. ehem.


Leave a Reply

